Considering buying a Baja

General talk about the Subaru Baja.

Moderator: mikenmel08

Bubsaroni
Scoobytruck Lurker

Considering buying a Baja

Post by Bubsaroni »

I'm in the market for a replacement car, and I've been looking a bit at these funky little trucks. Probably, if I go forward with a Baja, I'd be interested in an '06 NA MT, because I like manuals, and I'm more interested in avoiding the extra problems a turbo can bring than I am in the extra power.

But, at the same time, the newest of these vehicles is 15 years old or so, and I'm not really a mechanic. I've fixed a few smaller things on my cars before, and I find that given some time online a lot of problems are fixable by yourself if you've got the tools, parts, and patience, but I'm not rolling in enough money to buy something I'll end up pouring money into, either.

So I'm wondering, if I pursue one of these, is there any way to know if I'm getting something reliable, or is it something of a shot in the dark? Are there any obvious signs of looming problems I should watch for on a test drive? overheating, drips, and smells, sure, but anything else in particular?

I like the little trucks, but needing something I can rely on to get to work, I can't afford to get something that'll blow itself up, yknow? sorry, I lean towards paranoia when I'm looking at cars haha
Guacamole
Scoobytruck God

Re: Considering buying a Baja

Post by Guacamole »

Sadly it pretty much is a shot in the dark nowadays. Sure if you can crawl under the car/get it on a lift and look at the underside for any head gasket leaks, broken CV boots, how much rust there is, etc...
Now if you're a mechanic, especially a Subie tech, you'd probably know exactly what to look for (I'm neither and went in blind).
For what its worth, I bought my 06 NA back in 2015 at 150k miles. Since then, it's now at 227k and I've put in half of what I paid in replacing things (most of the cost was labor :lol:) including the dreaded head gasket failure.