A Project...

General talk about the Subaru Baja.

Moderator: mikenmel08

Scoobytrash
Scoobytruck Lurker

A Project...

Post by Scoobytrash »

My name is Todd and I am Scoobytrash. As well as Biker trash. I have had a few Harleys and currently still have an 07 Softail Nightrain. I have been an avid Jeeper for over twenty years.... until 2 years ago. I took a 2017 WRX for a test drive with my wife. She bought one. 2 Months later I trade my lifted and locked 2006 TJ and 2009 3/4 ton Dodge truck in an a WR Blue WRX. Now I really do not like having only one vehicle each so I started looking for a viable 3rd vehicle. Needed something that I could drive fairly easy, like AWD very much, something that will not kill me on fuel, and could haul a few things. I find a 2004 Baja Turbo.Now I have my 3rd vehicle all is well.

I am a teacher at a local high school (welding) and get to talking to my auto collision teacher and... we come up with an idea. Every year we take our kids to a show called the Piston Powered Auto-Rama, put on by Summit Racing at the Cleveland IX Center. We are going to have our Senior class do a collaboration project and build this Baja. The scarcity of them makes them noticeable. Not many people take them to an extreme. We intend to do just that.

I feel that I should mention that the auto collision teacher also owns his own custom shop. I have gone over there and welded a few things for him that require structural welding and he knows that I did that for years prior to coming to the school. We are going to put a 4" lift kit on the Baja, 31x12.50 Bogger tires, carve out the fender wells, create a custom roof rack that will hold light bars and pod lights, and create mounts that will hold two spare tires as Boggers are directional. As time passes I will put pictures up as we complete bits and pieces of the project. I will also take before and after pics with the car parked at the same spot.
Guacamole
Scoobytruck God

Re: A Project...

Post by Guacamole »