05 Baja turbo shortblock

Technical Discussions - Got a mechanical problem?

Moderator: bajabob

ratfink
Scoobytruck Lurker

05 Baja turbo shortblock

Post by ratfink »

Hideyho Guys, Got myself into a good one and could really use some technical support. I have a few questions to get me started and I'm sure I will have several questions along the way as I proceed with my project. First, some details: I just purchased a 2005 Baja DOHC turbo w/ auto trans. Good news: Just what I was looking for and in good shape inside and out. Bad news: Threw a rod and busted the block, maybe even damaged one of the cylinder heads. Now, just so you understand, I've worked as a mechanic all my life and I have the tools to do the job, but I'm not a Subaru expert by any means and electronics are not my strong suit. I have come up with a few possible scenarios and wondered if maybe you guys could steer me in the right direction.
#1- I have a short block out of our 2001 Legacy Outback wagon that I pulled out a few years ago (2.5 SOHC). It had a little noise that I thought might be piston slap, was leaking oil, and had 200k miles. But, it ran good and didn't burn oil. I only replaced it because the transmission was starting to give me problems and I found an eng/trans assy that had less miles. Could this short block be freshened up and used to replace the damaged short block in my Baja?
#2- I also just purchased a wrecked 2002 Legacy Outback wagon with a 2.5 SOHC and auto trans with 145k. (My Baja has 185k) Would I be better off to take the eng/trans/wiring/computers/etc out of the Outback and transfer everything into the Baja. Is this even feasible? I realize this would be a very time consuming job, but I gotta tell you, I'm retired and I have more time than money.
Well that's it for now. I'm sure I will have lots of questions once I get started. Thanks for any help or suggestions. Ratfink.
kamesama980
Scoobytruck Master

Re: 05 Baja turbo shortblock

Post by kamesama980 »