Newbie here.. Just a couple questions.

Technical Discussions - Got a mechanical problem?

Moderator: bajabob

GrandpasBaja
Scoobytruck Lurker

Newbie here.. Just a couple questions.

Post by GrandpasBaja »

Hello everyone, sorry for the long post. I just bought an automatic '06 Baja from my grandpa in March this year. Mileage is currently 103xxx. Lately, I've been noticing a slight power drop / shifting fluctuations when I get between the 30 - 40 mph range. Not showing any CELs. If the rpms aren't up high enough, it seems as if the truck is shifting hard, then the rpms drop about 500. Now, I did have the timing belt replaced recently and the mechanic said there was a very minor oil leak coming from the head gaskets. I thought it may be a compression issue? I also thought it might be the tranny, so I changed the fluid out. Didn't notice any difference, but I did not change the tranny filter because it seemed like it was stuck. I've also changed the spark plugs and spark plug wires. No difference there either.. Someone I know said it may be a throttle position sensor? I'm just stumped atm, gonna try to get a computer hooked up later this week. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks in advance everyone!
Acro2pilot
Scoobytruck Master

Re: Newbie here.. Just a couple questions.

Post by Acro2pilot »

Turbo or non turbo?
GrandpasBaja
Scoobytruck Lurker

Post by GrandpasBaja »

Sadly, it's a non turbo.
Acro2pilot
Scoobytruck Master

Post by Acro2pilot »

I wouldn't go right for a compression issue, if you had a head gasket issue that bad you would have some big issues like overheating, fluids mixing and it would likely look like an oversized vape going down the road. You can confirm compression as well as ring and valve health with a compression and leakdown test but I would put that further down your list.