Stuffing a Legacy H6 in a 03 Baja, how hard can it be?

Technical Discussions - Got a mechanical problem?

Moderator: bajabob

5050GRIP
Scoobytruck Contributer

Stuffing a Legacy H6 in a 03 Baja, how hard can it be?

Post by 5050GRIP »

I have a 2003 Baja 5 spd manual, I am thinking of dropping the H6 from the legacy, how hard could it be? My experience; I have done quite a few swaps on other cars before.
The stock NA flat 4 is just lame for this vehicle and give crappy 20mpg combined with open back. I want to drop in something with more torque off the line. A factory turbo 2.5 is on my mind as well but its just too much more stuff to add.
Please help!
guiguilandry
Scoobytruck Contributer

Re: Stuffing a Legacy H6 in a 03 Baja, how hard can it be?

Post by guiguilandry »

Not that bad, I just did it in my 03 5 speed, but you need a complete donor car... because you needs a lots of stuff from the h6 legacy !!

But I'M a mechanic and I'm specialized in electricity and engine swaps...
so, not that bad for me is most of the time a shitload of problem for someone not mechanically inclined...

if you're patient, you can do it and I can tell you what to do with the wiring !!
The 1st BAJA with EZ30d swap and LGT05 Tranny !!!!!! I love torque !!!!
5050GRIP
Scoobytruck Contributer

Post by 5050GRIP »

Thanks for the update, I have been waiting patiently for a reply.
I want to do the swap but having two chassis around would pose a problem, cus I am space limited in NYC.
guiguilandry
Scoobytruck Contributer

Post by guiguilandry »

Really you need the complete donor car..
there is a lot involved in the swap...
mechanically it's not too bad but you need to swap everything from the H6, but the real fun begin with the wiring...

there is a couple of differences, In my case I had to merge these..

Abs system : (I merged the 2 harness to keep my stock abs)
VDC : (remove from H6 harness/merge with abs)
VSS system : (I've put a 05+ canbus tranny without a VSS, Had to install a VSSPro)