Newbie here with exhaust issues

General talk about the Subaru Baja.

Moderator: mikenmel08

pieceofjake12
Scoobytruck Lurker

Newbie here with exhaust issues

Post by pieceofjake12 »

Hey guys, bought my 2004 Baja back in September. It had a hole in the exhaust when I bought it and now it has gotten significantly bigger. Im looking to fix it or just replace the whole thing, only issue is I'm not sure how to do so. Rockauto doesnt seem to have the exhaust system kit, and I'm not exactly sure how to fix it. Any help would be appreciated, thank you!
Guacamole
Scoobytruck God

Re: Newbie here with exhaust issues

Post by Guacamole »

Hey there. Before we dive into this, is your 04 a Sport or Turbo? Rockauto has all the exhaust parts for the Sport, but not the Turbo. That said, if the Cats are not throwing codes, DO NOT REPLACE THEM!!!
pieceofjake12
Scoobytruck Lurker

Post by pieceofjake12 »

It is a Turbo and is not throwing any codes.
Guacamole
Scoobytruck God

Post by Guacamole »

Well being a Turbo definitely makes things more complicated. But fear not! The parts can be found... just not all in the same place or category.
So, one thing to point out about the Baja Turbos: the entire drive train is identical to the Gen-2 Forester XT (2004-2007) drive train. As such, other parts that are linked to the drive train (such as the exhaust) are 100% compatible to the Baja Turbo.
As for the Baja, everything behind the rear axle is proprietary, but almost everything from there forward is shared with another platform (mostly Legacy).
Now to your predicament: exhaust.